End of year list (?)

The season for end of year lists has already started, I see. I quite like them, but I’m not going to produce a “best of 2023” here. Still, as I post rarely, they do make me feel like pulling together the CDs I’ve reviewed (so far) this year. These are all on the LondonJazzNews site, but it pleases me to have them linked here. Date order, with no other implication…

Paul Clarvis, Liam Noble, Cathy Jordan – Freight Train

An unexpected trio (Irish folk singer meets first quality Brit jazz), which really works. Still regretful I was out of town for their Bristol gig…

Chris Potter – ‘Got the Keys to the Kingdom: Live at the Village Vanguard’

A state of the art NY set here. The old place still brings the magic, apparently.

ah, apparently I can just paste links into wordpress like this now. Not used it for a while. Handy 🙂
very much looking forward to seeing this lot at London Jazz Festival in a few weeks.

great record this: he’s put out another since which is just as good…
still love Lucia Cadotsch…

Matana Roberts – ‘Coin Coin Chapter Five: In The Garden’

I make that 14 so far, which coincidentally is roughly the same as the number I managed to write about last year, and similar to most end of year lists too I guess…

1 Comment

Leave a comment