Skip to content

Bristol jazz this week

July 12, 2017

This blog looks like it is getting into a summer lull -partly because I’m mostly out of town this week. If you’re interested in such things, you’ve probably tracked down Tony Benjamin’s weekly gig guide by now (Weds evening). Just in case you haven’t here’s the link – and it does have more stuff near the end of the week than the beginning.

I’ve been wondering again whether to wind down here, tbh. It gets few hits, although of course if I posted more interesting stuff…  A bit uninspired in this dept, at the moment, though. I have been keeping this little site going for eight years, which feels like a long stretch.

I’ll probably carry on for now, but don’t expect more than a gentle tickover – at least for the next couple of months when I’m finishing a book to a deadline.

Meanwhile, you will find me on LondonJazzNews from time to time – see these recent CD reviews, for example.

Monk – Liaisons Dangereuses 

Monl-LP

George Colligan – More Powerful

(definitely the best design…)

Olie Brice quintet – Day after Day

Brice

Misha Mullov-Abbado – Cross-Platform Interchange

Tim Armacost – Time Being

TAMB

Loz Speyer’s Inner Space – Life on the Edge

Andreas Schaerer – The Big Wig

The-Big-Wig_teaser_550x

 

Looks like one a month so far this year, about the same as I managed in 2016, so I guess with the odd bit of live reviewage on the same site I haven’t been as idle on the jazz front as I thought, you just wouldn’t necessarily guess it from here. The solution (if you care) is of course to follow on twitter, where my world-beating efforts at self promotion tend to start… and finish.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

.

 

 

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. guytaylor2015 permalink
    July 13, 2017 9:45 am

    a:hover { color: red; } a { text-decoration: none; color: #0088cc; } a.primaryactionlink:link, a.primaryactionlink:visited { background-color: #2585B2; color: #fff; } a.primaryactionlink:hover, a.primaryactionlink:active { background-color: #11729E; color: #fff; } Keep up the good work Jon, us punters out here really appreciate the effort. Buy you a drink next time I see you.Best,Guy

  2. July 13, 2017 10:31 am

    To lose one jazzblog (The Jazz Breakfast) in a week is unfortunate but to lose two is a dispiriting coincidence. Since discovering it some years ago, Mainly Jazz in Bristol has been my touchstone and has introduced me to a local community of artists and audiences that have become an important part of my life. As a non-player, I am still at pre-amateur status in terms of my appreciation of jazz but I am getting there and this is due, in no small measure, to this blog. I can understand that, with few hits and other pressing commitments, you might think that it is time to focus on fewer, more detailed reviews for London Jazz News but I will not see them because this blog will not be here to provide a signpost . (Oh yeah…and surely I’m not the only one who struggles to find Tony Benjamin’s page on Bristol 24/7 without your help?). There is a wider debate to be had about the promotion of jazz appreciation and audiences at a local level (and I owe you a pint anyway). I better buy a copy of Trump’s Guide to Twitter before you move your contribution to that channel of hyperspace. In the meantime, thank you for everything that you do for jazz artists and audiences in Bristol. Your blog is greatly valued by at least one person and it will be missed. Chris L

  3. July 13, 2017 1:49 pm

    OK, thanks folks. I really wasn’t fishing for compliments, but I’m not done yet! Was just trying to signal a likely less active posting habit for a bit, at least. And Chris, I’ll keep signposting Tony’s listing as long as he does it. That bit’s easy 🙂

Leave a Reply

