Skip to content

Gig of the week – Deep Whole Trio, Weds 13th April

April 11, 2016

Plenty to tempt you out this week, as Tony Benjamin‘s jazz diary on Bristol247 shows here.

But although I have a couple of the gigs he mentions in my sights, I think my gig of the week is one I’m regretful to see listed because I know I’m out of town. The Deep Whole Trio, returning to the Fringe for Jon Taylor on Wednesday, are a remarkable, long- associated unit, bringing together three superb improvisers. Paul Dunmall does the ecstatic late Coltrane thing better than most. Mark Sanders is a wonderfully sensitive, skilled and inventive percussionist. And, my personal favourite, Paul Rogers conjures music from the bass that no-one else does – partly because he has a very unusual and beautiful instrument with 7 strings.

Like so

 

It should be astonishing to see the three of them working together up close in the Fringe’s small back room…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

